USFS Closes Trails in Angeles National Forest


(UPDATED APRIL 30 2020) Today, the U.S. Forest Service extended Forest Order No. 05-01-20-03COVID19, the “COVID19 Emergency Closure.” Effective through at least May 15th, 4 formal trailheads, 23 trails and 19 roads will be off limits. This includes popular “front side” trails like Gabrielino, Sunset Ridge, Sam Merrill, and El Prieto.

Map of a portion of the closure area in the Angeles National Forest provided by the USFS.

In total, this temporary order results in a closure of 81.5 miles of trail and 54.5 miles of road through May 15th. Please see the complete list of trailhead, trail and road closures below and click here to download the full text of the order. MWBA will update this post as necessary.


  • Millard Canyon
  • San Antonio Falls (Baldy Bowl)
  • Icehouse Canyon
  • North Devil’s Backbone.

Trails and Fireroads:

  • Gabrielino Trail
  • Kenyon Devore trail
  • Mt. Wilson Trail
  • Rim Trail
  • Valley Forge  Trail
  • Sam Merrill Trail
  • Sunset Ridge Trail
  • San Gabriel Peak Trail
  • El Prieto Trail
  • Ontario Peak Trail
  • Bear Canyon Loop Trail
  • Devil’s Backbone Trail
  • Telegraph Peak Trail
  • Mount Baldy Trail (Bear Canyon)
  • Bighorn Peak Trail
  • Chapman Trail
  • Timber Mountain Trail
  • Icehouse Canyon Trail
  • Three T’s Trail
  • Baldy Bowl trail (San Antonio Falls)
  • North Devil’s Backbone Trail
  • Joatinga Interpretive Loop Trail
  • Acorn Trail
  • Big Santa Anita Road
  • Mt. Wilson Toll Road
  • Mt. Lowe Road
  • Disappointment Ridge Road
  • Chaney Trail/Millard Canyon Road
  • Brown Mountain Road
  • Millard Ridge Road
  • Arroyo Seco Road
  • Mt. Lukens Road
  • Earl Canyon Motorway
  • Oliver Road
  • Doane Ebey Road
  • Doane Canyon Road
  • May Canyon Road
  • Wilson Canyon Road
  • Potato Mountain Spur
  • Palmer Evey Canyon Road